Introduction of NGA

Appellation   Date of Establishment
Objective   Businesses
Officers   Meetings
The secretariat location:   Organization of the National Governors' Association:(Outline)



National Governors' Association


Date of Establishment

October 1, 1947

This association was originally established on October 1, 1947 under the name of the National Federation of Local Government Associations (NFLGA) as the national organization of regional consultative organizations of prefectural governors (Local Government Associations), which had been organized by the governors elected on April 5, 1947 by popular vote under the New Constitution of 1947.

Later on October 11, 1950, the NFLGA renamed itself the National Governors' Association (Zenkoku Chijikai) which it still retains to the present day for the purpose of clarifying its character as an organization whose membership consists of the governors of the nation.



Seeking the smooth operation of local government administrations and their healthy development by promoting closer mutual communication and cooperation among the prefectures.


(1) Liaison and coordination concerning the affairs of prefectural government administration;
(2) Planning and promotion of policies which are deemed necessary for the strengthening of local government;
(3) Presentation of opinions to the Cabinet and the Diet concerning laws or ordinances which may affect the local autonomy system based on the provisions of the Local Autonomy Law;
(4) Friendly exchanges with foreign countries
(5) Other matters which are considered necessary to achieve the objective of the NGA.


(2-year term)
1 person
Vice Presidents
  6 person
Executive Council members
  7 persons(Presidents of regional blocks)
  3 persons

List of NGA Officers(PDF)


1. National Governor's Conference
The National Governors' Conference is the decision-making organ of the NGA. It decides on the following matters:
(a) Enactment, amendment and abolishment of the Statute of the NGA;
(b) Important policy matters;
(c) Matters concerning the presentation of opinions to the Cabinet and the Diet;
(d) Allotment of monetary contributions not based on the national laws or ordinances; and
(e) Matters which the President and Vice Presidents' Conference or the Executive Council deems should be considered by the National Governors' Conference for a final decision.

The National Governors' Conference is held twice a year.
(a) At the conference held in July, proposals and requests to be submitted to the National Government concerning its policies and budget for the next fiscal year are discussed and resolved.
(b) At the conference held in December, strategies toward the formulation of the national budget for the following fiscal year, including local government finances, are discussed and resolved.

In addition to the above, a meeting of the governors of the nation is held under the auspices of the national government once a year (in autumn) with a view to strengthening the ties between the national government and local governments.

2. President and Vice Presidents' Conference
  The President and Vice Presidents' Conference offers advice to the President on policy recommendations made by the NGA and general affairs of the NGA and resolves the setting up of special committees.
3. Executive Council
The Executive Council will decide on the following matters:
(a) Enactment, amendment and abolishment of the regulations of the NGA;
(b) Affairs of the NGA;
(c) Approval of budgets and acknowledgement of accounts; and
(d) Matters entrusted by the National Governors' Conference.
4. Standing Committees and Special Committees
The Standing Committees inquire into and study matters connected with local governmental administration and finance, formulate policies, and promote them. There are four Standing Committees on a permanent basis as follows:
(a) General Affairs Standing Committee;
(b) Agriculture, Forestry, Commerce and Industry Standing Committee;
(c) Construction and Transportation Standing Committee; and
(d) Welfare and Educational Affairs Standing committee.

Special Committees discuss specific important matters connected with local governmental administration and finance. There are 12 Special Committees as follows:
(a) Special Committee on Government Commitment Evaluation
(b) Special Committee on Gender Equality
(c) Special Committee on the Doshusei (Proposed Regional System of Japan)
(d) Special Committee on Disaster Control
(e) Special Committee on Computerization Promotional Measures
(f) Special Committee on Issues concerning the Japanese Constitution
(g) Special Committee on Decentralization Promotion


Special Committee on Energy and Environmental Issues
(i) Special Committee on Education and Support Measures for Next Generation
(j) Special Committee for Future Projections of Municipality Finance and for Local Consumer Tax

Study Group

  There is an autonomy system study group consisting of academic experts for the study of basic issues concerning the above system.


The secretariat location:

Location: 6-3, Hirakawa-cho 2-chome, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 102-0093, Japan


Organization of the National Governors' Association (Outline)

Click here for organization chart.(PDF)